Talbot Hotel Wexford Trinity Street, Wexford, Ireland

Also known as: Talbot Hotel Wexford
8/10.0 Based on 93 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Talbot Hotel Wexford

Our Customer stayed here in October 2015

This was a really good value hotel and is located very centrally in Wexford. Good complimentary car parking and great views over the bay. Reception staff friendly and efficient, excellent size bedrooms, good size bar and food was fine. No problem with recommending it or in returning. Perhaps the breakfast is a little pricy but good coffee shops nearby.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

Wonderful, helpful and polite staff. Beautiful foyer. Room was a little tired, but good value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay in the Talbot Hotel. Stayed here so many times before but first time booking with Roomex.com and you were so efficient! The Talbot Hotel is located in perfect location. Walks along the river, shopping and the food is second to none!We even met the chef! The staff are so helpful and cheerful. Aoife on reception is such an asset to the hotel - always smiling. I requested a nice view and Caroline gave us room 433. Fabulous view! When we arrived we put the kettle on and just sat overlooking the view - our little holiday had begun! The door staff even ran across the road to carry our bags from the car park! Such a treat. We will be back.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

We had a very good experience staying at this hotel. Every one was very polite and really helpful. The hotel itself was beautiful and the food was delicious.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

I stayed with my friend in The Talbot Hotel last weekend and we enjoyed our stay very much, the staff were very friendly and the Breakfast was excellent. The room was nice and very clean. We found Wexford town a great place for shopping and took a drive out to Kilmore Quay, we had a lovely meal in Mary Barrys Restaurant. The only fault I could find was that the sign for the Hotel was too high up, while driving on my own along the Quay, I passed it by, and had to turn back further down the road, they should have a more visible sign at eye level to help drivers identify the Hotel. I would recommend this Hotel to stay in while visiting Wexford.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

Excellent service and staff were extremely helpful

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

Lovely hotel with superb staff. We had a lovely spacious room with a lovely view out on to the sea. Very central just a short walk up to the main street. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I would most definitely stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Food excellent, eat in the bar. Also food in the foyer - excellent too. Staff friendly.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2014

This was a very enjoyable stay in the talbot hotel on are arrival the staff are very friendly and helpful, are double room was quite large and very comfortable after checking in we heading for the bar for drinks and food, which I must say was one of the best hotel meals ive had in a long time and would gladly go back again to this hotel and rate it 8/10

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

First time staying in this hotel and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. First hotel I have been to in a long time where every member of staff we meet said Hello! Small thing but makes a big difference. Our room was lovely and we could not find fault with it. It is very good value; with free parking and free wireless internet as standard - most hotels I have stayed in lately have started charging for internet access and have parking fees. This hotel is a gem in Wexford and I would strongly recommend it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

Very well located nice and clean the staff were very friendly and helpful food in the ballast bar was lovely and plentiful price was good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

My wife and I stay at the talbot on a regular basis and would recommend it very highly as a great place to spend a few days. The last trip was for just one night and as usual we had no complaints. The staff were so friendly and helpful at all times and the room we stayed was beautiful, recently decorated with all the mod cons and a sea view. breakfast was hot and tasty and i have to say we left refreshed. we will be back!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

Nicely decorated modern hotel on the quays at Wexford. Great breakfast. Staff and management very pleasant. Pool and sauna well run and enjoyable.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

Stayed here on a very busy Saturday night in wexford. Could not fault the hotel and room and it was fantastic value from the roomex site. We had a beautiful view of the harbour and the room was quiet even though it was on the main road side with lots of traffic.The room also had great tea and coffee facilities and nice bath products. The reception staff are so friendly and their breakfast staff were even better. Great hotel, looking forward to a return visit for even longer and hopefully get to use the leisure centre. It looks really good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

We were a group of 6, 3 x twin rooms. The rooms were clean, with tea and coffee facilities. The hotel staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The food in the bar was very good. The gym facilities were good, although it is a bit of walk to get to them. Only issue was a couple of people mentioned that their beds were a little uncomfortable. Overall we had a lovely stay, breakfast was also included and plentiful. I would recommend this hotel to people staying in Wexford. Parking was free and directly opposite the hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

Hotel staff were very friendly.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Excellent weekend. Lovely hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Location very good, staff superb, very friendly throughout stay, breakfast room bright and airy, selection available at breakfast was excellent. Beds very poor and decor looking a bit tired, have stayed several times would go back

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

We were staying in the Talbot Hotel to attend a wedding, our stay was very pleasant, we eat in the bar on our arrival, we found the food very good but service a little slow. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean. overall I would give hotel 8/10

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

A very poor standard of a room.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

This was my 5th time staying at the Talbot and it never fails to disappoint! Clean rooms, nice breakfast and friendly helpful staff...what more could you ask for in a hotel!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

We decided to spend the May Bank Holiday weekend in the Talbot. Having arrived by train we were delighted when our room was ready as soon as we arrived, just after mid-day. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The hotel was very accommodating as we needed coeliac options on the menu. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast and daytime menus were good value and very tasty.The hotel bar had live music each night and a special treat was the afternoon jazz on Sunday morning.All sports events were also available on screens throughtout the bar, while the foyer/ coffee area provided a relaxing atmosphere too. Overall a very enjoyable weekend in a hotel that is particularly suited to families and couples.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

staff were really pleasant and helpful. nothing was too much trouble.the meal we had was for 50 people and was ok.i thought the veg were undercooked but overall it was fine.the room we had for the meal was beautifully done with chair covers and candles .the manager was very attentive and looked after us very well. the hotel needs to be refurbished ,the decor is very tired and a bit oldfashioned,it defo needs to be repainted. the room we had was small and again needs painting. the view from our room overlooking the sea was stunning .i will definately go back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Nice hotel in town. Room small but very clean. Didn't avail of breakfast - too late getting out of bed! But had a meal in the restaurant which was very good. Great value overall.In an excellent location & free parking.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

We had a bad start as the room we were allocated was small and very grubby. The bathroom ceiling was black with paint flaking from it and you couldn't swing a cat in it. However, I mentioned to the receptionist that we were not happy as the room was not as described on the internet. She told me that the description and pictures on the internet are from the bridal suite. Nevertheless, she asked us to stay in the room one night and she would move us the next day to a better room where we could spend the next 3 nights. My daughter and grandson were booked in for 3 nights; arriving the day after us, and the receptionist organised a move for her too. The new rooms were bigger with a lovely view more expansive view of Wexford harbour. Bedding was crisp, white and clean but towels were thread bare, grey and exfoliating to say the least. The room was clean and although better than the previous one, it was also very tired and in need of renovation. Carpets and furniture were badly stained and walls had black scuff marks. In this room there was a trouser press and iron, no minibar and the hairdryer was one of those wall attached things with non directional airflow that were around in the 70's. To be fair, the receptionist provided me with another hairdryer when I asked. There is a pool and leisure centre which we visited once, the used elastoplasts at the side of the pool made me cringe. The leisure facilities are open to the public and although there were only a few people in the pool when we visited at 9am, this might be a problem for others. All bathers must wear a swimming cap and these are available for 2.50 euro, however you can also borrow one. This is not a spa facilitity as you would expect in a 4 star facility but if travelling with children it might suit some people as there is also a kids club and playroom. At the weekend there was entertainment in the bar which was a massive room and quite impressive. The gallery area was nice to sit and have tea/coffee and a residents bar was open until 4 am for those in need. The award winning restaurant was not my cup of tea and I can only assume that the award winning chef was on holiday during my visit. To be fair, we only had dinner on one occasion and there was nothing wrong with the food but I was expecting more from a restaurant with such culinary claims. Full Irish breakfast was available but you have to queue to tell the server what you want, as this is not self service, which could take a good ten minutes at the weekend. A good selection of cereals and juices were on offer and other foods such as porridge could be ordered. Staff in the whole hotel were friendly and helpful. There is nothing wrong with this hotel that a bit of renovation and attention to detail might fix. The location is excellent. It is situated directly on the water front and is close to all local amenities. There are two free carparks and even though there were weddings at the weekend, we still managed to get a space. A train track runs in front of the hotel but I saw one train during my four day stay and did not hear any passing. People cross the tracks as a matter of routine. This is a difficult hotel to rate as it has location and facilities in its favour for 4 stars but rooms are no more than 3 stars.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

We stayed at the Talbot Hotel in Wexford town last Friday 13th April as we went to see a show in the Opera House. We had stayed in another hotel for the same reason last year and decided to try somewhere different as I found the other hotel very expensive. We got an excellent deal for one nights bed and breakfast and dinner and I have to say I am very pleased. We had a very good experience from start to finish. The hotel is not luxurious but modern, clean, friendly and comfortable. The staff were excellent especially the girls at reception who had no problem changing our room for one with a seaview and who were very helpful and informative, courteous and professional; especially Aoife who put my sister's mind at rest with regard to their coeliac friendly menus. The food we found to be delicious, fresh and plentiful and were happy with lunch (the soup was delicious), dinner and breakfast. The bedroom was not huge but clean, warm, with a very comfortable bed and a very good shower with toiletries. The only thing missing was a safe. It is also a very short walk around the corner to the quaint shopping area, the Opera House and the many pubs (we had a great night in "An Speir agus An Talamh" pub after the show) and cafe's so this is a major advantage to staying here. We enjoyed our stay in this hotel and will definitely book it again any time we stay in Wexford and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

We stayed for three nights. I asked for a sea view room as it was a special occasion.I was told it would be €1o extra per night but they would give us a free upgrade. The room was great (no. 530). The window was a wall of glass over looking the bay. It was beautiful. There was also a large leather sofa and a small dining table for us to have a meal in the room and enjoy the view. The staff were very friendly and helpful.Free morning papers can be collected at reception. The breakfast was good and the bar food was also very good ( with real home made chips!) The only down side was the sink was very slow to drain and was fully blocked by the time we were leaving. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would return in the future.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Room was fine.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

The room was booked for us as part of a wedding party. Two adults and a boy of 14 and a girl aged nine. The room had two full single beds and a double bed which were very comfortable. The room had a view of the sea which the children enjoyed. The wedding reception was fabulous. The layout of the room was sprctacular and the food was great. Breakfast was very filling and hot as appropriate. The leisure centre was quiet with pool, hot tub, steam room and sauna. I would love to stay again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Excellent hotel. Couldn't fault it in anyway. Rooms were very nice and staff were helpful. Breakfast was superb. Would stay again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

I was disappointed with the bedroom which i thought was certainly not up to a 4 star standard - i had stayed in killarney the week before @ A 4 Star hotel also and there was no comparison between the rooms provided, the Killarney experience being so much more luxurious. The room was small and very basic....the bathroom had at least 4 main areas that needed improvement i.e hairdryer falling apart, expelair not working, no hook to hang clothes on, no hand rail in bath, very poor towels and very few toiletries. I passed some of these concerns to the receptionist when i was leaving. I would like to add that the hotel itself was comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

The room was spacious and clean. The staff made the whole experience great. The food was superb. The parking and location is perfect and most of all the scenery was stunning.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

very nice in every way.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

3 friends and myself stayed at the Talbot hotel to unwind and have a bit of fun. We really enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be very friendly. Our room was fantastic,plenty of room and we really enjoyed our stay. We'll be back for the good value and lovely room!!!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

We had an excellent stay. Lovely hotel great service and staff are so helpfully and friendly.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Food & service was fantastic would recommend it to everyone!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Nice Hotel, pleasant staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel.The staff in this Hotel are so friendly and helpful, they really go above and beyond to ensure you have an enjoyable stay! This really ensured my stay realaxing and enjoyable. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, the way a 4 star hotel room should be.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

nice and clean hotel, friendly staff, good bar food, ideal for what we wanted.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

beautiful hotel,staff extremely helpful and couldnt do enough for us.being a coeliac it can be difficult to eat out but the chef catered for my special dietary requirements without comprimising on taste.bedroom was spacious,spotlessly clean and very comfortable.well worth a repeat visit.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Location, staff, leisure centre, breakfast, facilities, all excellent. Only downside was the room, the decor and layout were only passable,while the lighting and the view was poor.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

i found the hotel top class and the staff freindly and helpful

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Myself and hubby stayed for 1 night recently.. We requested check in at 1pm as we were going to a wedding. They obliged but gave us a room (no: 103) in very poor condition. When we asked to be moved they arranged another room, no problem. Room 103 became a joke as they tried to book other people in our party in to this room.. they also refused. Food was excellent and staff very polite and friendly. Would stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

We stayed at the hotel to attend a friends wedding. The staff were very friendly and gave good service. The food was excellent. Biggest dissapointment here is that our "double" bed was in fact two matress's pushed together. While this is to be expected on the continant I wouldnt expect this in ireland, especially when paying over the odds for a room.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

The hotel was great, we were there for a wedding. Food was excellent. The only fault I can say was the room. The room must of been the smallest room in the hotel. It had no view, the only view we had was looking directly at a roof (1m) from window. As a result there was little light in the room. It was very clean and the bathroom had a brand new shower/ bath etc which was excellent. Overall, hotel was excellent, the room was very dissapointing. We asked about moving but they told us the hotel was full.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Beautiful hotel would recommend this to my friends

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Staff really friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. The bar food was gorgeous and so was the breakfast. Room was very spacious with air con and a nice bathroom with a great shower

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Excellent hotel with great staff!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

we had a really nice time, staff very pleasant and room was lovely. will def go back, i love how central the Talbot Hotel Wexford is, and how nice the bar is, and the food.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

My recent stay at the Talbot Wexford was not all I had hoped it would be. While all the staff were friendly, professional and curteous the room I was given (Room 219) was anything but four star. Although our beds were clean and comfortable, there was no trouser press, iron or ironing board. The catches were broken on both the main and bathroom windows. The hair dryer provided in the bathroom was sub-standard. The broken toilet roll holder was still in place and its replacement was simply fixed directly underneath. There was no chain on the room door, well only the remnants of one. The outlet pipe from the hand basin was leaking and this lead to surface water on the bathroom floor. The leak was reported to reception on the morning of Saturday the 16th, but nothing was done about this right up until time of checkout on Sunday. All in all... I would only book the Talbot again if I was given a far better room. The Hotel is given a four star rating and this should apply to all rooms, whether booked directly with the Talbot or through Roomex.com

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were bright and clean, food was really good and staff were friendly and helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Had a really enjoyable stay at Talbot Hotel Wexford. Room very nice, two large windows overlooking the sea. Food in restaurant very good. Would defenitely recommend it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

First class cleanliness, service and food, air conditioning v poor, view nil.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

On arrival at 14.45hrs, rooms for me and three other couples were not ready. Carpet in reception is badly stained. We went to the bar until our rooms were ready; I stood at the bar for 12 or 15 mins before I was asked the most ridiculous question by any one selling a product “are you ok?” Drink prices were top Dublin Hotel prices. We were not advised when our room was ready, it was left to us to enquire again. Room was two star quality not four star, double bed was two single beds pushed together, very worn and uncomfortable. Bedroom carpet was dirty. Kettle in room was dirty; old used teabags in the kettle with fungus growing on them. Breakfast was good. Staff were friendly.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Thank you Roomex for your quick and easy hotel booking service, delighted with rate and hotel. To prove same have just rebooked this morning through your repeat booking serice our next mini break.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

We were staying in the hotel for a wedding. We were expecting a high standard with 4 stars, however our expereince was disappointing. The hallways were dark and the carpets grubby and well worn; the lift smelled of vomit. The room was of average size but grubby and worn again. We were told at the function room bar that we couldn't charge drinks to the room and had to trek out to the main bar where this was contradicted. The bed was smaller than a standard double and the curtains didn't meet, meaning we were awake with the birds at the crack of dawn. The room looked directly onto the air conditioning hub, both units in use and discarded, not pleasant. The bathroom was large compared to the size of the room but there was only a cloth shower curtain and a towel rail had been taken off the wall to reveal strange sticky pads. Overall very disappointing and we will definitely not return.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Check in was quick and the person was friendly. The room was fine, though the TV was a bit small. Breakfast was fine.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Our daughter had her wedding reception at the Talbot, and it was fantastic, the reception room was beautiful, the food was delicious, and service was first class. We also stayed that night the bedroom was spotless, very comfortable, and had plenty of room. the breakfast next morning was also delicious and plenty of choice. Would definitely stay again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

Hotel in general was very good, however, I feel that the bedroom was very small, not much room. It suited us as we were only staying for 1 night, but not very suitable if staying for longer than this. Breakfast was quite good and offered a good choice.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

Booked a double room...Nice, clean but old fashioned Double bed was small with a single in room also.. Breakfast very good in nice bright diningroom. all in all very good but bedrooms could do with a freshen up ..

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

I stayed on a Sat night,prior to an Holistic Fair I was exhibiting at. Checkin was very prompt,staff very helpful. A single room, very clean ,quiet warm etc, just as I expected from last time. My meal in the bar was excellent as was the service all Staff smiled and were on their toes.!The Manager there is fantastic and everything is scrupulously clean. However next night I finished at 8.30 went into the Bar, ordered a Cottage Pie and a Drink. Drink right away ,but after 15 mins I told the Waitre in had to catch a ferry. 10 mins later my meal arrived, I ate in 5 mins what I could, and rushed to catch the Ferry at 10 pm. I missed the last sailing and had to travel 25 miles home.so my good feelings about the Hotel took a bashing, unfortunately !

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

HAD A GREAT TIME. STAFF REALY MADE US FEEL WELCOME. BAR FOOD AS GOOD AS I HAVE SEEN ANYWHERE. HOTEL SPOTLESS. DECIDED TO UPGRADE THE ROOM AND WHEN WE TOLD THEM THAT WE HAVE BOOKED THIS HOTEL SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE WITH ROOMEX WE WERE STUNNED TO BE GIVEN A BEAUTIFUL SUITE FOR A LITTLE EXTRA PAID UPON LEAVING. THE HOTEL PROVIDES TOP CLASS ENTERTAINMENT AT THE WEEKENDS. WILL RETURN AGAIN TO THE TALBOT AND WEXFORD TOWN ITSELF IS LOVELY WITH SOMETHING FOR EVERYBODY.HOTEL LOCATION IN THE TOWN MAKES IT AN ADDED BONUS AS EVERYWHERE IS JUST A SHORT STROLL AWAY.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

All very good except for a particularly noisy water cistern. The staff, the decor., the food, the leisure centre, the town, the people all great. We would go again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Excellent facilities, good food in the hotel bar and breakfast was very good too. Room spacious, comfortable and clean

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

lovely view from the rooms. Bar food very good, as was breakfast. Very nice staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

stayed here while at a wedding great food, lovely rooms and excellent staff 10 out of 10.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

This is the major Hotel in Wexford and has undergone extensive renovation. Free parking, albeit in the open by the Hotel. Good food and service, staff efficient. My only concern is their charges are higher than Dublin for a similar quality. Without Roomex reduced prices it would have been too expensive.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

Myself and my partner stayed in the Talbot for one night in February 2011. I have been in the Talbot before but never before stayed. There is a lovely big bar and a large public area where you can sit and enjoy a coffee. Our room was at the front of the hotel so we had a nice view overlooking the water and it was beautiful in the morning when the sun shone in. Our room was small but looking at the room plan a lot of the other rooms look bigger so maybe we were unlucky but the view made up for the size. The decor in the room was quite old and could do with a revamp but was very clean and had everything we needed, tea/coffee, iron etc and the bathroon was fully equiped with shampoo etc. I will note, the bed was two singles together as I know some people do not like this. Breakfast was fine, there was someone serving the hot food so they gave you whatever you wanted - Im sure this prevents people from going for seconds. Overall awe have a very plesent stay and I would return to the Talbot.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

the hotel was lovely , very cosy and welcoming .. rooms very comfortable and spacious ... food was lovely

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

allowing guests to prebook tables in the lounge at weekends a complete turnoff for other guests who wish to enjoy the music. If groups dont want to book function in a private room then it should be first come first served. At least twenty guests were left without seats in the main lounge that was half empty at 9.30pm because of the reserved tables. Every thing else regarding the hotel was spot on.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

Room was basic but clean, staff were very friendly and helpful! Not a great view from the room, only air conditioning units on the roof to be seen!!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

First class all round

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

A good hotel in an excellent location for Wexford town. Some of the rooms can be small and dark but once we asked to change we were relocated to a bright large room overlooking the harbour. The staff were friendly and more then helpful. An excellent location for a 1 or 2 night break.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

Staff very friendly and breakfast was very nice. Under staffed for breakfast on Saturday morning Room was not the nicest could do with revamp

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

This is definitely not a 4 star hotel. The room was very small and in terrible condition - the mirror had fallen off the wall and was just left lying against it and you could see where there used to be pictures from the yellow squares on the wall paper. We were at a wedding in the area and stayed for two nights. On the first morning the cleaners knocked on the door at 8:30. We asked them to come back later and although we were gone by 9:30, they never returned. We arrived back at 3am on Sunday morning to find the room in the same state as we had left it. To make matters worse there was no hot water at 11:30am on sunday morning - the staff told us that the hotel was full for the weekend and had run out! The breakfast on both mornings was a total scrum. We complained to the manager when we were leaving and were told that the GM would contact us the following day - still waiting for the call. Free papers though.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

Really enjoyed my stay at the Talbot. Hotel was lovely, rooms were a nice size and very clean. I think the most impressive thing was the. Staff working there though, who really went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure my stay was an enjoyable one. The only one thing I wasn't pleased with, was the breakfast - we asked for ours to be delvered to our room, but it never showed, which was annoying. All in all I would definately stay there again, and would have no problem recommending it to a friend.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

Reception staff friendly and welcoming, lobby bar staff went that extra mile and served us dinner in the lobby bar as that main bar was packed and noisy. Room very nice. Did not get to the leisure centre. Will definitely stay again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

Not great. Room was small and very strong smell of smoke. I have stayed in smoking rooms in several other hotels and the rooms have always smelt fresh on arrival. Even the corridor smelt dreadful. No hot water on Friday night so couldn't go out (not able to take a shower). Had to get out of a cold shower to call down to reception on the phone only to discover that the line was dead. Then had to get dressed to go down to reception to report the problem No hot water again on Sunday (although this time the problem was resolved within half hour). However, phone still dead on Sunday (even though I had reported this on Friday) so, again, another trip down to reception to report it. Staff were apologetic and helpful but, hot water being a basic requirement of any hotel room, the standard here was extremely disappointing.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

I recently stayed at the Talbot in Wexford and I must say that I have never ever met such friendly staff especially the reception staff, who greeted me with a bubbly personality and a very nice smile, They were full of life and I noticed them giving their time to any needs or requirments to any hotel guests. The bar was very nice with friendly bar staff also and the waiting staff who were extremely busy all seemed be enjoying their work.(Give Courtney a medal). Rooms were spacious and everything was working as it should. will be added to my favourites. I was only there for a short stay but will definately be back for longer.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

Roomex were very good and helpful as i had queries about booking extra rooms. The price was amazing and the stafff of the talbot hotel were very nice and helpful. Everything was close by and the food, both in the bar and breakfast was fantastic. The only let down was the size of the room - it was a very small room as my friends had booked for the same nights and thier room was much bigger.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

rooms were very comfortable and brkfast was good staff were very helpfull and friendly.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms spotless and well equiped. Food great. A very relaxing stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

WHILE THE HOTEL WAS SPOTLESS WITH FRIENDLY STAFF AND OUR STAY WAS PLESENT I MUST MENTION A FEW GRIPES. THE HOT BREAKFEST HAS TO BE HEATED IN THE MICROWAVE BY THE CHIEF AS IT SEEMED TO BE COOKED TOO EARLY.THE BAR HAD A LARGE NO OF TABLES RESERVED FOR A PRIVATE FUNCTION ON SATURDAY NIGHT LEAVING QUITE A FEW HOTEL GUESTS WITH NO SEATING TO ENJOY THE LIVE MUSIC WHICH WAS VERY GOOD ON BOTH NIGHTS. I BELIEVE THAT TABLES BEEN RESEVERED IN THE TALBOT IS A REGULAR HAPPENING AT WEEKENDS.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

we had a lovely stay after a dodgy start , first the reception had no record of our roomex booking, luckily there were rooms available , so we were given one with minimum fuss on production of our roomex receipt. the hotel itself & staff were very good , we had breakfast delivered to our room on both mornings, perfect. location was also great , we had view over the sea , overall a very nice break , wexford a great spot for a w/e away .brian keeley , drogheda

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit and stay at The Talbot, Wexford. I was made feel very welcome from start to finish. Staff couldn't do enough for me. The room was excellent, the Leisure Centre and staff were excellent, staff very friendly and nice. Room was kept in immaculate condition. I wouldn't hesitate in returning to the Talbot, Wexford. All in all, I would give my weekend in Wexford and in the Talbot, one hundred percent.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

staff were very helpfull on arrival and very polite and courteous throughout our stay. the new years eve night was brilliant and very well organised. definitly a hotel to go back to in the future.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

having stayed in the talbot many times it is a hotel my self and my husband enjoy going to, this time i went with my sister and a few girl friends we had a very relaxing stay. the food is wonderful and the rooms spotless. it is in a great location just a two minuet walk to the town.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Really Nice hotel with very helpful staff, nice bar and good food

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

I would highly recommend the Talbot Hotel in Wexford. If you are a couple or family, it is a hotel that suits everyone from young to old. When we stayed at the Talbot Hotel at Easter, I was pregnant on my 2nd child. My son was 23mts old then. Our friends were also staying at the hotel the same weekend. Their daughter is the same age as my son. The Talbot Hotel has a kiddies club which is from 6pm tp 9:30pm. They feed the children & then go to a room which the children can watch a DVD or play with the toys. We sent the kids to the club. I wasn't sure how my son would react with strangers as I am a full time mum at home & as he has a few kids the same age as him, he had never been with a room of kids & to be left with people he does not know. I was completly wrong, he loved it and the girls that run the club are fantastic. The girls take your mobile number if the kids want to go back to you before the club is over they will give you a call. We have stayed in many hotels all around Ireland & Europe and I can definatly say from the heart that it is the BEST HOTEL to stay in. In a few months time we will be back again for another visit.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

The staff at the Talbot in Wexford went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable experience. The rooms were spacious and clean with beautiful decor. Despite two weddings over the weekend of our stay we were not disturbed by them. It was my mothers 83rd birthday and the I had arranged flowers and cake through the hotel. The restaurant staff sang happy birthday to her - she had a wonderful time.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

The hotel was very nice with a lovely leisure centre and good sized bedrooms but we were very disappointed with the service [ or lack of it ]. My family had gone there for the weekend to celebrate my mother,s 80th birthday and booked a table in the hotel restaurant on one of the nights to mark this occasion.We found the service exceptionally slow and not very professional and at one time waited 20 mins.for a drink at the bar. This really did not go down well. We have since complained to the hotel management who have assured us that this was not the norm - hopefully not !

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Hotel quite good with very good music and crack. Pool area very good . The only down side to the hotel would be the evening dinner . The bar food and breakfast was fine.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

We Stayed at the Talbot Hotel in September 07. Our room was spacious clean and comfortable as was the rest of the hotel. We found the staff to be friendly and efficent. Bar food and breakfast were really good to. We would defenitely stay here again!!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5