The G Hotel Galway Wellpark, Old Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland(republic Of), Ireland (republic Of)

Also known as: TheG, G Hotel Galway
8/10.0 Based on 31 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for The G Hotel Galway

Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated. The staff and service was excellent.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

Hotel is really nice, the Thermal Suite is fabulous! There is no swimming pool which I though was disappointing, the decor can be a bit tacky & the hallways are very dark! I would call a lovely 4* hotel (not 5*) in a rubbish setting. The other thing was that we got valet parking & there was damage done to our vehicle, when we brought it to their attention they said they checked the cameras & where it was parked wasn't covered by cameras... not impressed!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for one night in May - I had very high expectations due the Hotel being a 5*. The decor did not disappoint, the different lounges are beautiful and are decorated to a high standard. It was approx 1pm when we checked in, the receptionist politely advised us check-in was 3pm , she did however check and our room was ready. Our room was also nicely decorated - however it was a bit shabby round the edges (a couple of stains on the carpet/ sink in the bathroom was cracked/wooden outer panel on the bath was water damaged and lifting, Console table was very badly chipped with part of the drawer practically missing! (The Hotel need to ensure the upkeep/maintenance otherwise things will looking much worse in a few years) The bed was comfortable however the pillows were a joke, (too soft and flat) You may aswell have no pillows!! So therefore did not have a good nights sleep. The complimentary cupcakes in our room were a nice touch and were also delicious. We had our dinner in one of the lounges on the first night, portions were small, food was nice but nothing spectacular. The atmosphere in the lounge was great nice music playing in the background, we stayed in the lounge after dinner and had some drinks, cocktails were lovely. Our waiter was also very attentive. Breakfast next morning was served in the restaurant, again the food was nice but in no way worth €24. Toast/Bread was not served with the "Full Irish Breakfast", It was nearly 10 mins before we got toast we were almost finished our breakfast at that stage. We also had lunch in the hotel before leaving for home. Again it was in one of the lounges, it was much busier than the previous evening. The lunch was only okay. Both portions of potato fries served were not fully cooked. Our waitress did not ask if everything was to our satisfaction and also did not notice that we had both left almost a full bowl of potato fries each when clearing off table, I also ordered dessert from the lunch menu @ €5.95 however I was charged the dessert price on the a la carte menu. I did not query this at the time as it was busy and I felt embarrassed complaining about a couple of euro. Overall I would not rate this hotel as 5* due to the average food and upkeep of the fixtures & fittings in our room.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

I was very pleased with the deal I received from Roomex as I had not used your site before. I had not stayed in the G hotel in a few years and it is still a very nice hotel but not quiet as special as it once was. I feel that the hotel is a victim of our times in that it is obvious that there is less money being spent on the small things that make a stay in a 5 star hotel feel that bit more special. We were charged €20 for the use of the pool in the spa and only realised there was a charge when we checked out.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

We stayed at the g hotel and found it fantastic. The hotel was so exciting with its designer interiors .the staff were very friendly and respectful. There was two gorgeous cup cakes , ice , and water waiting for us on our arrival. We had the choice of a mini bar or just use of the fridge the bed and pillows were so comfortable we didn't want to get out of bed ! Which was no problem as breakfast was served until 11 am .The spa was decadent such a treat ! Truly a five star experience and really fun for a romantic break . Thanks to Roomex for 5 star hotel for the price of a 3 star - fabulous

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

The g hotel is simply superb. The staff were a major factor so polite and accommodating again made our stay a superb. Just cannot wait to return.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

Not comfortable, to book a table to have a drink is a bit much, the spa was very good.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I thought the theme of the hotel was very different & nice. Staff were very friendly. Hallway leading to rooms & the room itself were very quiet & peaceful. However there was a "humming" noise in our room all night which was a bit annoying but apart from that everything was fine. It was a relaxing and enjoyable stay !

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

I'd wanted to stay in the G since the G from the moment I saw it, so expectations were high and boy did it meet them. From checking in to checking out the staff bent over backwards to cater to my boyfriend and I and our individual needs. They greeted us with a warm Irish welcome and were genuinely friendly. The room was heavenly, particularly the bed, if only I could have fit it in my handbag... The night porter brought us drinks in the lounge, even though the bar was officially closed. After sleeping like a baby, we enjoyed a 5 star breakfast looking out at Lough Atalia. We then went to wind down in the Thermal Suite situated in the spa on the first floor. Paradise is the first word that comes to mine. Unfortunately we stayed for one night only but I have every intention of returning.. Again and Again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Stayed had to move because of uncleaniness to another room and in this the bathroom floor dirty clump of hair behind door, carpet stains lampshade glued on glue visible, hairdryer had no nozzle tv fuzzy no extras no complimentary water should not have 5 star status in my opinion. Cocktails 12.50 euro over priced. Breakfast choice poor and had a hair in my omellette! Expect 3 star status and you might be satisfied. Reception and conceirge staff were superb. I was suppossed to have someone from hotel contact me after I complained I left phone number no one called me then I did a letter of complaint & still have not received a reply. Very disappointing.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Excellent hotel from the minute you check in until you depart. Staff are excellent and couldnt fault a thing. Made full use of spa in the hotel which is highly recommended. This hotel is defintely one were you can chill out and come home from a weekend break feeling refreshed and relaxed. Breakfast in hotel is worth having and such a huge selection every morning. Only back from recent stay and planning another trip already.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

The G Hotel is superb. Free underground parking is the first thing we experienced. Directions to the parking could be better. The reception area is very impressive. Check in appeared to go ok. We had booked a Deluxe room, but were put in a lower grade room. After a while in the room we figured is was nice but nothing extraordinary. We asked reception to check and eventually they told us they had made a mistake. We were then taken to the correct room. The deluxe room was very nice and definitely worth that little bit extra expense. We ate dinner in the Huntsman Inn nearby and this was ok - not great. We later compared it with the G menu and if we were going again we'd choose the G barfood option. We had a drink later in the evening in the G bar and it was very nice. Chairs were a bit weird - but that's part of the attraction of the G - it's not typical. Breakfast in the morning was top class - loads of options. I noted a guest who arrived after us was asked if they'd like a window seat, while we weren't asked and were put in the corner well away from the window! Generally speaking, the staff weren't locals - mostly foreigners - but were well trained, capable, frienly etc. Overall - a very good experience, would recommend it and would go there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Well what can I say. A perfect hotel for a romantic night away on valentines night. The hotel itself is easy to find with plenty of underground parking with direct access to the hotel. The hotel is decorated in a funky mix of colours n styles and give the place an extremely modern and arty feeling. The room was spacious, impeccably clean, with large walk in shower, comfy bed and couch! Great view to boot too. The bar at the hotel offered and wide variety of drinks and Coctails witch went down a treat n were reasonable priced. The best part of our stay at the g has to be without a doubt the staff on the reception desk. No request was too small from having an ice bucket or ironing board delivered to the room to booking a taxi that came on time! These people were so polite, curious and extremely helpful. There's no doubt that a stay at the g hotel will leave u speechless in a good way!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

beautiful breakfast, fantastic hotel pity you have to pay extra for pool facilities.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

hotel and service were top class...room was large and comfortable would recommend paying the extra for this hotel...top class

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Beautiful Rooms and very friendly staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Enjoyed our stay at the G. Bedrooms are standard but the rest of the hotel you would know its 5-star the way its finsihed. Breakfast very nice.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the G. The service and comfort was excellent. The breakfast was fabulous. We were very disappointed with no swimming pool and the extra charge for the thermal suite especially as I am pregnant and could not use it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Very enjoyable stay were delighted to a receive a double complementary upgrade when we arrived. Staff very polite and helpful

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

G Hotel was fabulous, rooms were gorgeous and breakfast was the best ive ever had in a hotel. Arrived at three and room wasnt ready until four which was the only fault i would have. Would definately return.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

lovely hotel. Not a fault at all

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Stayed here for one night in July and will come back. The service was lovely, polite and friendly. The bedrooms are nicely furnished and nice and light. The beds were the best we have slept in. Carparking is free and there are plenty of spaces. The breakfast was very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

Overall the hotel is lovely. I had a very bad experience with room service which pit a damper on the stay. I found the room service staff member who looked after our order rude and unprofessional. The reception staff were lovely, very welcoming and efficient and the lounge staff were very helpful and the service was very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

Excellent hotel and within relatively easy walk of the city centre. It is more expensive than the average hotel but you can certainly see why. Staff efficiency and friendliness, classy surroundings, four lounges and bedrooms that you do not want to leave, good food at at a very competitive price. It is a must do treat every now and again. We will be back.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

Very nice place & very good service. Don't know if I'd rate it as a 5 star hotel tho, the gym was extremely small and there's no pool, jacuzzi, steamroom or sauna to relax in. Other than that the standard was very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

This is a fantastic hotel with quirky touches. The decor may not be to everyones taste but the quality of the finish is exceptional. The staff were very helpful at all times and everything was done without any fuss. On the food front we ate from the all day menu and yet again we were not let down, the food was superb. Go for the fish and chips they are very tasty. The rooms were very spacious and quite luxurious and the ensuite was perfect. The only down side to this hotel is the fact that you have to pay 30 euro per person for the use of the pool, sauna and steam room, which is just ridiculous. Other than this I would fully recommend this hotel for a get-away treat.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at the G Hotel. Its worthy of its 5 star rating. Excellent accommodation, very friendly and helpful staff and some really interesting interior designs. The only downside was unfortunately our room was at the back of the hotel with no view. But this is only a minor issue. All in all, a superb hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

This is our third time to the G Hotel and I am always sad to leave. Its a fantastic hotel with extremely helpful and friendly staff. I would recommend time and time again!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

The decor in the G hotel is really unusual, with crazy colours and different themes in different areas of the hotel. The service and hospitality shown by the staff is excellent, they help you and serve you but don't intrude. If anything I found the bedroom to bed a little plain (taking into consideration the rest of the hotel) but the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay in the G again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

For a hotel of this calibre and price there should definitely be tea/coffee making facilities in each room

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

The G Hotel was absolutely Superb!! Service was polite and helpful, I mentioned it was my birthday and they sent up chocolates and a card wishing me happy birthday which I thought was a lovely touch. Pure comfort and elegance.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5