Kilkenny Pembroke Hotel Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Co.kilkenny Ireland(republic Of), Ireland (republic Of)

8/10.0 Based on 62 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Kilkenny Pembroke Hotel

Our Customer stayed here in November 2016

Great hotel in perfect location with very helpful staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

Was delighted with our accommodation the friendly staff, The size of room great bathroom, Bar a little small but inviting, Would love to go back soon, Would recommend it to family and friends

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Pembroke, Well located and close (walking distance) to all major attractions in the city. Buffet breakfast served till 10am and wide range of choices. Although parking is provided, the car park is small. would I recommend The Pembroke? of course.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

Very relaxing. Very comfortable. Very clean. Room service breakfast was top notch.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

Excellent hotel. It was spotlessly clean.We stayed in room 117 at the back of the hotel,the room was extremely comfortable,well equipped and spotlessly clean.The young lady on the reception named Courtney was very helpful and friendly. I will stay here again when in Kilkenny and would recommend this hotel to friends. Small car park a minor issue.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

Nice hotel in an excellent location. Very friendly staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

Right on target. It was in the middle of where we needed to be.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Friendly and efficient staff great restaurant clean comfortable rooms. Super location

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

Hotel was great, very central location, room was really nice and a good size and the staff were all very friendly. The only fault we found was the shower which kept spurting cold water every few mins, other than this the hotel was perfect and i will definately be reccomending it to others.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

We stayed on Thursday 4th April. We try stay here any time we're staying overnight in Kilkenny. It's a great location, the restaurant and breakfast bar are really good, nice sized bedrooms and good valued for €!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

The hotel was lovely, comfortable, relaxing, quiet. The staff at reception were really friendly and welcoming - it wasn't just check you in and get rid of you from the reception, the gentleman took the time to ask us where we were coming from and had we been to kilkenny before which isn't that common at reception in my experiences. The room was lovely, really clean. The only thing I would say is that it was very cold and when we put on the ac to heat it up it kept turning off every few minutes.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

Lovely hotel would recommend to anyone, You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, the way a 4 star hotel room should be. Staff very friendly, all in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay !

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

Great location - Friendly staff - Good parking facilities - Good value on your website

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Very handy to have a car park in the city Room itself was nice and beds very comfortable. Breakfast room is very pleasant and a great range of choices.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Lovely hotel, modern and very clean. Staff very friendly and food very good. Would definitely recommend The Pembroke Hotel to friends and family!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Pembroke is in a perfect location in the city for getting around, the staff are very friendly and the room was great...clean, warm and very comfy! Well worth the low, low price. Breakfast next morning was a self-help job with plenty of tasty food available! All in all I will be definitely staying there again and I suggest you do too!! Thanks Pembroke!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Pembroke hotel, the hotel was modern, clean and comfortable. Staff wee really friendly.. Great location on the centre of Kilkenny.. Parking at the hotel is limited but we were lucky enough to get a place. Breakfast was stunning with an excellent choice available. Overall we loved the hotel and will hopefully get to stay again sometime..

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Pembroke Hotel. There is a modern, spacious, light and airy feel throughout the hotel. Our room was big and had ironing and tea/coffee facilities. The bed was very comfortable. It was good to be able to control the heat setting in the room to suit our taste. The bathroom was spotless and the towels supplied were cosy and fluffy. Breakfast in the hotel was self service and had the usual continental fare of cereals, juices, cold meats and cheeses as well as pastries. There was lovely rustic bread supplied as well as regular sliced bread to make toast if you wished. The hot breakfast had a good selection and was very tasty. My only one small quibble with breakfast would be that the orange and apple juices were watered down to the extent that they were tasteless. The grape juice seemed fine though. We ate in the hotel every evening. The bar food menu was excellent and the service very quick and efficient. The dining room had a larger menu and the food was delicious. I couldn't fault it. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. Overall we had a great stay and I would definately go back.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

The hotel was very clean and the staff were very pleasant. Location is excellent would definitely stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

a fine room. spotless clean.excellent staff

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Really pleasant stay. Great location. Friendly staff. Lovely food. Room clean and recently done up. Georgous bathroom. Would highly recommend!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Stayed one night with my partner our 3 year old son, my brother his wife and their 3 year old and 4 month old daughter's and I have a say a great time was had by all the rooms were so spacious and clean and staff very helpful would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Great location. Updated and clean room. Thank you

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Excellent quality, excellent service and excellent value. The only regret is that we only stayed one night and didn’t choose to sample the Restaurant – but we will next time. The location of the hotel is very central and the lively Kilkenny party atmosphere did not disturb as at all. Reception was welcoming and friendly. The room size was generous with fresh modern décor. Comfortable bed. Friendly breakfast service with excellent choice and quality of food. One minor criticism would be that the mini gym was too small to be found.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Clean quiet comfoortable room. Excellent staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

My husband and I recently had a one night stay at the Pembroke Hotel and I can only say, from start to finish, it was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The hotel location is excellent, once the car was parked up, we had a stroll around Kilkenny and soaked up the lovely atmosphere and had a peak at the great array of shops to be found. The hotel itself sports an excellent bar and restaurant. We ate in the restaurant on the night of our stay and can only say that the food was second to none! It was beautiful and so tasty. The staff and especially the girl at Reception (can't remember her name, she had blonde hair) were very friendly and helpful. The next time we get a break away from the kids, we'll definetly be heading off to Kilkenny and staying at the Pembroke Hotel again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

WE really enjoyed our Stay in the Pembroke Hotel, Kilkenny. Hotel was fab, Room was so big and bed so comfy, really enjoyed our stay. Car Park was save and Hotel v Central, we could walk to all the Pubs and Shops. Reception Staff were very helpful and friendly and Bar Staff very nice. Overall I would highly recommond this hotel and def we will stay there again, was so clean and rooms so comfy and bar do lovely food.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Excellent location, lovely hotel, lovely staff, Paul at reception was very pleasant and helpful. Nice sapcious room, great price through Roomex.com, will definitely return when in Kilkenny again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

free parking, clean big rooms, great value, great breakfast, great staff, location excellent A must stay for Kilkenny city

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

The Pembroke Hotel is very close to all the shops, restaurants and pubs. The room was very spacious and clean with view of Kilkenny castle. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was the only downfall as the cook food was cold. I would certainly stay in the Pembroke Hotel again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff. Pleasant, comfortable, well equipped room. Very good breakfast Convenient car parking.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Lovely hotel. Sorry I was staying only 1 night. Superb location. Great bar

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Location, location, location. This hotel is very well located to see Kilkenny, very central. Very quiet as well which is surprising when it is so central. Big rooms, big breakfast, overall very pleasant hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, great spacious room. Would stay again on return visit.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

Room very large and airy which I like and breakfast was very good. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the location is a real winner. If leisure centre is important, this is not the hotel for you because it is a drive to the facilities with which the hotel partners.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

Gorgeous Hotel right in the Centre of Kilkenny.Large rooms with very comfy bed big bathroom fab power shower though skimpy with toiletries. Lovely restaurant and bars helpful friendly staff Good breakfast though slightly chaotic on days we were there running out of food and taking time to replace and breakfast staff were not all helpful or pleasant but that said it only happened once.Free parking.Would definetly recommend

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

We were very impressed with all the staff. Very friendly and efficent. The room was very nice & spotless. We also had dinner in the restaurant & we thought it was of a high standard. Myself and partner have more than 20 years between us in the hopitality industry. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

A very clean and bright hotel ideally situated in the centre of Kilkenny. Free car parking and easy access to the car from the hotel. The staff were very courteous and friendly.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Delighted with our stay in hotel. Room was nice size and very quiet. Food was excellent and staff were very friendly and helpful. Will return there in the future.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

very nice stay. lovely large room and very friendly staff. we checked in late, lovely girl checked us in and we were served by a very nice guy in the bar. very comfortable beds and nice shower. good breakfast the next morning. overall very happy with our stay and would stay at Pembroke Hotel again when in Kilkenny.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

This hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Kilkenny. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We had our lunch in the bar and it was delicious. We had a nice spacious room with a very comfortable bed. The only minor complaint I'd have was that the TV channel navigation system is very slow - it looks like a system designed specifically for the hotel but as I say this is just a minor problem. Breakfast was very nice and there were plenty of options available to suit everyone's tastes. Parking is limited so get there early to be sure of getting a spot outside the hotel. All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would not hesitate to visit the hotel again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2010

This is a really nice hotel. The bedrooms & bathrooms are spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The room was also really quiet. I had a great nights sleep and breakfast the next morning was really good. I only stayed 1 night as I was attending a wedding in Kilkenny but I definitely intend to go back to the Pembroke.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

lovely hotel and lovely rooms, great its so central, would def be stayin there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

We had decided on a one night stay but, on reflection, should have stayed longer. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and the breakfast the next morning was just delicious. Add to that the parking facility and the location of the hotel and it made our visit to Kilkenny very enjoyable

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

We stayed in the Pembroke Hotel for 2 nights. It is in a great location, the staff were very friendly - always had a smile on their faces(which is rare these days). The room was superb, very spacious, very well decorated and spotlessly clean. I would definitely stay here again and would have no problem recommending it to anyone wishing to stay in Kilkenny.It Definitely deserves its 4 stars!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

I wouldn't of classed this hotel as four star. I have stayed in 4 star hotels before and found this quite basic and small. I found them quite fussy too. When we went down for breakfast we had to ask for basic things like cups and glasses because there was none out. We paid 180 for night and wasn't worth the money also when i got home i got a call to say i owe them 90 euro because i got a stain on the carpet. which was quite petty . I have never been treated like this by any hotel before.Would not recomment this hotel to stay in. stay away!!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night for Valentine's. We chose this hotel because of the great reviews on the internet, and that trip advisor rated it the first hotel in Kilkenny. I could not agree less with any of those reviews!! The hotel from the outside looks quite plain, although probably nice in Kilkenny terms, but not of the standard they hold themselves to at all! We arrived in the hotel car park only to find the tiny car park of around 20 if even cars places to be completely full, had to make a call to reception only to find out there is an "overflow" car park 7 or so mins of walking. Ridiculous!! We came for check in reception, there was no one to greet us even though we could hear the staff chatting etc behind a wall, still not one person came out to check us in, in an efficient manner especially that it is a four star hotel!! The room we stayed in was on the first floor (118), the room was located at the very end of the hall, room size was teeny tiny, with some kind of diagonal slope which you could not move freely between the end of the bed and the wall, and neither of us are big people. No bathrobes nor slippers in the room which would be expected from once again a four star standard hotel. Have not seen a mini bar or may have missed it. There was a kettle and cups for tea making. Towels in the bathroom were not the quality you'd expect even in a two star! And excuses for the details, but this hotel has the coldest toilet seats ever! We went out for dinner etc, when coming back around 2am the doors were locked and you had to wait for someone to come at the door to open it for you with a list of names and hotel room numbers to let you in! Maybe it is a good idea security wise, but come on like, if the security is proper security, they should be able to have the doors open like any other proper hotels!!!! In the morning when we went for breakfast, which is served between 7.30 - 10.30, was a horrific experience. Perhaps horrific is exaggerated, but unpleasant at the very least. We came in to find a few tables occupied, and the rest uncleaned, and without any intention of doing so. We had to clean one ourselves, and get someone to give us some tea which was not offered. We found that the breakfast choice was extremely poor, with barely anything to choose from and around half 9 barely anything left, and once again no intention of refilling. The so called Irish breakfast was those sausages that are huge, greasy, disgusting, and on top of that looked undercooked. Disgusting fried eggs, no scrambled eggs available! Mushrooms, and tomatoes, whatever happened to the beans and the rest! They've a small toaster that you'd have at home for toasting your bread, and if you're patient enough for the queue then you'll wait forever in it. Othe choices for breakfast was stale fruit, yoghurt, and a choice of once again stale cereals. I will not go into the juices, there were two or three choices to pour from a container, and the one available, as the rest were empty was orange which resembled an orange juice carton washed with water. Sick! And that was that, not a pleasant stay after all. Would recommend to not one person, pick a guest house if you're really stuck for choice instead of this! It really feels like all those great reviews were paid for by the hotel!

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2009

good hotel, great food, no Gym no swimming pool. could not find it when walking out. very clean and nice bedroom. plenty of room and nice bedroom. good parking when available.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2008

the room was very nice but very cold because the air conditioning wasn't working. Breakfast was very average. Our stay was ok.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

Hotel very clean and rooms excellent. Staff friendly and helpful.2min walk to center of Kilkenny, suitable for families couples and business.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

We had a really enjoyable stay at The Pembroke Hotel, our room was very clean and fresh with plenty of space although there was a camp bed in the room even though we hadn't ordered one. We didn't have dinner onsite but we did come back to DT's Bar later on that evening. The atmosphere was really good as was the Entertainment. Breakfast was lovely, with plenty to choose from. I would have no hesitation in staying in this Hotel again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

We stayed in the Pembroke in Kilkenny for three nights and really enjoyed it. THe hotel was lovely. Our room was beautiful. The staff were very friendly. We could not fault anything. We will be back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

My reservation was for a smoking room with internet access. The whole hotel was non-smoking and the wireless internet was not working in the rooms and there was no ethernet backup available, so off to lobby went my computer and I. The rooms were very contemporary in design although my elderly mother had problems with the very high bathtubs. Parking was provided at another hotel parking lot not far away and the Pembroke validate the parking stub. The breakfast was lovely and the bar downstairs, DT's, was exceptional. The hotel is in a very convienient location with just a few minutes to Kilkenny castle and 5 minutes to shopping. Restuarants are plentiful in the immediate vicinity.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

great hotel really modern, lovely rooms very comfy and stylish, great breakfast and friendly staff. hotel is in a brillant location really central, would recommend the hotel to anyone would definitely stay there again. we're a couple in our mid 30's.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

Young couple south kilkenny. I really enjoyed the stay, the room was lovely and very clean. Plan to stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

I found this hotel most unsatisfactory. The heating in our room was broken and it took numerous phone calls and a day before we got moved. Our new room had a broken shower. There was a noisy building site next door that woke us early each day and continued till the evening. The noise was to such an extent we could not stay sitting in the room for any period of time except at night when we we freezing due to the broken heating. The cutlery was filthy on numerous occasions and some staff members were extremely rude. It totally ruined our trip and I was shocked Roomex as a reputacble company would endorse such a Hotel.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

Ideally situated within Kilkenny Town Centre this Pembroke Hotel is very "shiny and new" if a bit dark in terms of its decor. The rooms are very well decorated and well supplied. Also they were very quiet considering the central location. I have to say breakfast was a bit shambolic with a feel that is was somewhat thrown together. However this is probably due to early teething problems. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The Pembroke is a much more reasonably priced alternative to other hotels in Kilkenny

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Would definately recommend this Boutique Hotel. Very central. Rooms spotless and good size. Friendly Staff. Self Service breakfast in bright airy dining room and very helpful staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Our booking was for Bed and Full Irish Breakfast. On our first morning we were told that a full Irisih breakfast was only served at the weekends. The details online about the room stated that all rooms had a fridge and this was not the case in our room. The details also said there was a good restaurant for evening meals. Again this was not the case as the resturant appeared to be permantly closed. All in all I would not recommend this hotel until such time as standards have been improved. On a good note the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

It was great to be made comfortable in the hotel that we stayed in Kilkenny, such luxury, worth every cent that we spent. The only problem was there was no teletext on the tv, we all are deaf.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

The hotel was relatviely new (we were the only couple for breakfast). Staff were helpful and obliging. We couldn't work the TV and the lift had a quirky operation system. Rooms were spacious if a little dark. Overall, satisfactory experience

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5