The Shelbourne Hotel Dublin 27 St Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Also known as: The Shelbourne
10/10.0 Based on 39 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for The Shelbourne Hotel Dublin

Our Customer stayed here in January 2017

Great location - friendly staff and brilliant facilities - just wished we were there for longer :)

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2014

Lovely staff, great atmosphere and super location, really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was so full of Christmas cheer, I would highly recommend staying here.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Staff, Great Bed & Fantastic Bed Linen, Great Athmosphere

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2014

Well what can I say we had the most wonderful experience in the Hotel I had booked the night as a surprise 50th birthday treat for my husband and the hotel did everything to make it special from allowing me to drop in our bag the day before to delivering the bag to our room. The meal in the restaurant was magnifiant the staff in the restarant we so friendly and helpful and confident in the recommendations from the menu. I was even presented with a beautiful rose at the end of my meal as it was valentines. The rooms are luxurious and the beds really comfortable, and the next morning all I can say is the breakfast is to die for with a choice of absolutely everything you imagine. All in all it was a fantastic experience and a real treat my husband was delighted with his birthday surprise!!!!!!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2014

Our pre-Christmas stay at The Shelbourne was the best way to start festive season! On arrival we were greeted by the friendliest and mannerly receptionist, who offered us spiced warm apple juice and a homemade ginger biscuit! Well this was the begining of the most enjoyable stay. Our room was excellent, old world style with a luxurios feel. The best nights sleep was had as the beds were so comfortable we didnt want to get up! Breakfast was the best we have had in any hotel! The ambience of the Saddle Room was lovely and all orders were cooked fresh. Every staff member could not do enough for us and were not showing any signs of festive fatigue!! We could not experience the bar in the evening as there were functions on and it was extremely busy, to be expected at this time of year. The pool area was an added bonus! Beautiful facilities and it was like having our own pool! And how wonderful just to go down in our complimentry robe and slippers over over swimming costumes! I would recommend the Shelbourne to anyone around the festive season as it bring back all the old warm feeling you should have at Christmas!! Also I must add the decorations in Reception were amazing!!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2014

The Shelbourne is consistency in a world gone mad. Everything they do is well done. However I do feel there is a hint of snobbery about the place and unfortunately if our experience is anything to go by, it appears that Roomex bookings are treated less favourably than others. We have stayed in the Shelbourne a number of times but on this occasion, despite booking our room over 2 months in advance and despite checking in early, we were given what must be the smallest room in the hotel. We were also promised a phone call once our room was ready, which we never received. We were told the room we were given was the only available room that night but I don't for a second believe all other rooms were allocated before we checked in. So whilst we still enjoyed our stay, this did leave us with a view that in the Shelbourne, more than any other hotel, what you pay for your room determines where you come in the scale, even if it is a discounted rate.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

Unable to get coffee and sandwich except through room service which was most unsatisfactory.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

Lovely hotel, great buzz and fab Christmas atmosphere. Beds way too soft for my back tho, could do without the topper !! Also whilst the hotel was child friendly, barman charged us €7.50 for a sprite with a dash of grenadine for our daughter !! When queried, he said it was classed as a non alcoholic cocktail & cost covers the "shaking" of the cocktail !!! What nonsense, that stuck in our gut. Overall tho it wouldn't put me off staying in The Shelbourne, on the contrary I look forward to my next visit ;)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

The Shelbourne is very centrally located. The staff were excellent and very helpful. Bedroom was lovely all round lovely experience.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the shelbourne. We loved the old world opulent surroundings. There was a really lovely festive atmosphere and nothing was too much trouble for staff. We were met with a warm welcome and this carried on throughout our stay. We enjoyed a lovely lunch in the saddle room over a bottle of wine and watched all the hussle and busssle. The breakfast was gorgeous, all fresh Irish produce. We even indulged in porraige with cream and whiskey!! Yum! Our bedroom was very comfortable but felt it could do with bit of updating but this did not deter from our stay. There was lovely elemis bath products to enjoy aswell. Overall I would heartily recommend at stay at the shelbourne. It's perfect location right in the heart of Dublin!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

Excellent location and valet parking means no issues with looking for parking spaces in Dublin city centre. We walked the city , the park across the street is a great place for an early morning walk . The hotel has some many great restaurants and shops around it . There was a great buzz in the all the hotel bars at night , would highly recommend the Shelbourne hotel as a go to place for work or pleasure or both of you are lucky .

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

I was attending a wedding, I thought the hotal looked great at the welcome we received was excellent, the room was perfect, food was great. that night in the residents bar a member of staff said there was no credit on my room, yet upon check in that day the sum of 100euro was taken by debit card, i had a receipt for same, she went away to double check but did not come back to me, upon ordering another drink some time later I asked was it resolved and she said yes. I could of done without that incident on front of my close friends. also then when going to the room that night my key card would not work in the room door, i went back downstairs and the guy at the desk resolved this but no explanation giving as to why. the breakfast the next morning was average food wise.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

I booked the Shelbourne Hotel in Dublin for my daughter and her friend, who were on Holidays in Ireland, they live in NY. She said it was a fabulous experience staying there, and it is one of the best Hotels she has ever stayed in. From the moment they arrived the were amazed by the majestic beauty of the hotel itself, food was delicious, staff went out of their way to be helpful, location is perfect for seeing all the sights in Dublin, at this point I would love an opportunity to visit and stay there myself.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

5 Star hotel for a reason - Excellent, friendly servive and staff

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

lovely hotel, great location, great staff and delicious food

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

The Shelbourne is a gem of a hotel. Everything about the place is great, from the friendly and helpful staff to the spacious bedrooms and the wonderful food. It is pricey but as a treat once in a while it never lets us down. One quirk of the place though is the stairs - if you choose these rather than the elevator then be prepared to end up in unusual parts of the hotel! We tried to make our way from the first floor down to the ground floor and in our first attempt ended up in the staff quarters and in our second attempt the stairs ended up bringing us to the back of the dining room!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

Excellent location, excellent ambiance, room very good. Also great value

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Fantastic staff, great hotel, amazing breakfast. Pity we weren't there longer!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

5 stars well merited.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

enjoyed our short stay,staff were very friendly really loved our room,clean and tidy with all comforts of a 5 star hotel,would definitely stay there again. only downside was I was charged 65euro for breakfast which was already paid for in our booking,i now have to wait a month to get my money back as informed by accounts.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2013

Staying at The Shelbourne was a wonderful experience. From the time we arrived to the time we departed, the service was faultless. The staff were always polite and helpful. Our room was lovely, very spacious and well appointed. We will definitely be back

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

Really excellent service - very welcoming staff - lots of smiles and being welcomed - excellent food: very high standard & lots of choices. Wonderful location. Room not as satisfactory: air conditioning too loud, water & room temperature could have been warmer & radio did not work in the bathroom.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

Lovely plush hotel in a perfect location off grafton street. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was well furnished but not the largest room we've had before. Breakfast in room was better than the buffet breakfast downstairs. Car valet was so convenient for parking

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

we really enjoyed our stay .The staff couldnt have been nicer and the service was great. Loved the christmas decor !!!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

excellent in every way, staff v helpful and friendly.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

The Shelbourne Hotel is a wonderful place to stay, on arrival the reception staff were so friendly and efficient making sure everything was to our needs, they even gave us fresh lemonade while they were booking us in. We ate and had drinks in the bar, staff were more than pleasant and I would gladly return there for my next trip. The hotel is very well located near shopping streets and parks.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Fantastic from when we entered the hotel and left the following day

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Excellent, very welcoming.beautiful room. Good atmosphere,wonderful Christmas decorations. Would stay again if could avail of roomex offer.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Stayed here a few times before by booking through yourselves. Great hotel and location staff could not do enough for us. The only disappointment was our room, it was very small and appeared to be a single room enough though we booked a double room. This has never happened us before but will always check in future we get what we ask for.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Staff were excellent, from the valet service at the beginning of our stay right through to our departure. We were upgraded to a deluxe room on check-in, which was a lovely surprise. The room was an oasis of tranquility, the bed and pillows were comfort personified. The breakfast was fabulous. The location was ideal too. Can't say enough really!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Superb hotel - can't find anything to fault.The room was lovely and spacious and quiet. The staff were very friendly. We only had breakfast - no evening meal but food was great. Location excellent as very close to all amenities. Would definitely stay again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Shelbourne. We went there for our engagement and they couldn't have done enough for us to make our stay one of the best ever. I couldn't reccommend this hotel enough.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Lots of friendly staff. We had to wait 2 hours for our room but were sent a comp half bottle of wine for inconvenience.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in the shelbourne, staff were excellent and the overall experience was very good. We have stayed before at this hotel and will definately go back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

I have stayed in the Shelbourne previously and overall it doesn't disappoint. It lacks the true grandeur of a 5 star hotel but there is not much I can complain about. We were on the first floor with a room overlooking an alleyway but I suppose someone has to be! We arrived quite late in the day so it didn't seem right to complain! The hotel was booked to capacity and we were there attending a wedding so it was perfect to be able to pop upstairs afterward. Its location in the centre of Dublin is excellent and there is a great buzz in the bar. We will be back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2011

We were made very welcome on arrival and there was no delay at the check in desk, and to our great surprise the receptionest informed us she had given us an upgrade on our room. The room was very spacious and beautifully appointed.We had a wonderful stay and the staff were very helpful and we were made to feel we were the only guest in the hotel. A fantastic place to stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

During our stay it was understandably very busy 10 Dec . As a consequence service in the Saddle Room for Dinner was inordinately slow. We sat down at 8.25. had a 2 courses plus coffee which took 2 hours ! The service between courses was exhaustingly slow. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

What a wonderful hotel in the heart of Dublin City - couldn't ask for better. We were greeted by extremely friendly staff, together with mince pies at reception. The overall ambiance was superb, big log fires, Christmas decorations, lots of people meeting and in good form. On top of everything, we were given an automatic room upgrade (thank you Roomex !) to a Heritage Suite, which was simply fantastic, loads of room, massive bathroom etc. Being so close to Grafton Street and all the pubs and shops was great, and to be able to retire to the oasis, comfort and great food at The Shelbourne, really just made our anniversary weekend. On top of everything, we got a better price through Roomex than any other website!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Shelbourne, the hotel is very lively with a great atmosphere. Service very good. Room was a bit disapointing, comfortable but small. Bathroom had a sliding door that kept opening, had to keep my hand on it to keep it closed! Residents bar was packed and we couldn't get a drink..maybe just as well.. Nightlife in Dublin was fantastic and will definitely return. Shelbourne great hotel and top location. Breakfast was excellent, great choice and everything very tasty.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5