Westwood Hotel Galway Dangan Upper Newcastle, Galway, Ireland(republic Of), Ireland (republic Of)

8/10.0 Based on 54 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Westwood Hotel Galway

Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

My stay was alright but I was a little disappointed. The lady on reception was not happy that I had forgotten to print of my roomex voucher and bring it with me. I explained that I had been away from work all week and had no access to a printer. I had the voucher on my email on my phone and had the voucher number available to her. She asked that I forward the email to her which I did. The email did not come through immediately which I felt further aggrieved her and eventually she told me I could go to the room and she would be on reception in the morning so I could check with her if it had come through by that time. I went to the bar for some food after unpacking but it wasn't the friendliest of experiences either. I was left sitting alone for what seemed a long length of time before anybody asked if they could help, then I received a menu and my order was taken. I asked the waitress if I could move to a quieter corner which she had no problem with. My food arrived about 15 minutes later but there was no condiments (salt/pepper/sauces) offered to me and I decided it was easier to do without than ask for. The morning was a similar experience at breakfast, all the staff were polite but I wouldn't say 'friendly'! I don't think I will be staying again, while nothing was really wrong with my stay, the room was clean and warm, it wasn't the friendliest environment! As I usually travel for work/study alone it is nice to have a smiling face and a friendly word - I am afraid I felt like I was a nuisance and a bother!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

Stayed here for a wedding, staff very friendly, breakfast just ok. Rashers were terrible, please change the brand. Put out sign to have room cleaned but when we arrived back late in evening room still was not cleaned. Manager called to room about half an hour after we coming back that evening & asked was the room cleaned. I explained that it was not & that I had the cleaning sign out, so he said he would get someone up to clean it, again we went out that night & when we got back late the room still had not been cleaned. Very disappointing service. Informed the reception when we were checking out she just basically said sorry, that she could see the manager had it documented. Very poor service for the price paid. We wouldn't be rushing back.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2014

very nice hotel. comfortable rooms and extremely helpful staff

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

Friendly staff...comfortable room....would recommend this hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

lovely stay,had a room upgrade which was nice

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

I arrived late on Wednesday evening to a very comfortable room, had no problem at check in the receptionist had everything ready, all I had to do was sign. I ate in the bar on both nights of my stay, lovely friendly staff, great food in a nice atmosphere. Loved my stay at the Westwood and will stay again next month when I am up that way!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Lovely hotel,room was huge as was the bed. Only let down and it's a minor one was breakfast wasn't great.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Lovely rooms and staff.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Great hotel. Staff are extremely friendly

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

6 of us were here for a weekend and we really enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded on arrival and the rooms were very spacious. Everything you would need was in the room; iron, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water, shower gel / shampoo, and the bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch too. The bed was very comfy so we had 2 very good nights sleep! They provided live music in the bar both night we were there, and they also were showing live sports on the TV in the day. Drink prices were very reasonable and there was a good atmosphere in the evening. We did not eat in the restaurant but did have breakfast one morning which was a nice. There was a choice of either a continental buffet or a cooked breakfast for 7.95 or 12.95, although if you just wanted something specific you could just pay for that. The hotel has free parking and is only a few miles from the centre. It's also the right side of the city for Salt Hill and Connemara so a great spot for exploring. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and think the price we paid was good value for a well presented and kept 4 star hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Fantastic hotel with a brilliant staff. Highly recommend this hotel especially as a wedding venue.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

i visited for just one night for a wedding and while there were lots of people there the staff were great and very friendly. lovely room, immaculate and posh shampoos etc are always a plus:)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

I had a really lovely stay at this hotel. My room was huge and spotlessly clean. All of the staff were really friendly and helpful and I have to say the food both in the evening and for breakfast was amazing. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a stay. This is an ideal hotel if you need to stay over for an appointment in University College Hospital or the Breast Clinic.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

the hotel was perfect, everything from the bedroom, to the reception hall. the rooms were very clean, spacious, and comfortable. everybody liked the hotel, the staff were helpfull, and very friendly. no complaints, except the price of a breakfast. €9.90 for a breakfast consisting of fruit and toast is a bit much..

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

We stayed one night in the Westwood Hotel Galway. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious, clean with a good view. We did not eat dinner in the hotel.However, we eat breakfast. There was a wide variety of choice for beakfast. I had the traditional brekfast and my wife had salmon. The brekfast was delicious. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

We had a lovely stay in the Westwood House Hotel, we went there for our 1st Anniversary, they even upgraded us for the occasion. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent, would defo recommend this hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

overall 9 0ut of 10

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Everything excellent except bedroom was far to hot even with window left open from arrival!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

I had a lovely stay at the Westwood Hotel in Galway. It was my first time to book this particular hotel and was very pleasantly surprised. In short, great standard hotel, very friendly and helpful staff and I had a meal in the restaurant on my arrival which was also superb and good value for money.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Attended a family wedding, excellent venue and the accommodation was very nice, clean & comfortable. The breakfast was excellent also.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

The Westwood House Hotel, I found it a very relaxing hotel, food very nice and staff very helpfull. The rooms are very clean and up to standard. I would stay there again and will Recommended to my friends.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

The Westwood Hotel was brilliant. We were there for a wedding and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were modern with a traditional twist and the staff were very friendly.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Great hotel - perfectly located if visiting the Hospital and 20 min walk to town. great staff, fabulous breakfast. Room had tea & coffee facilities, & iron & ironing board with 2 hair dryers. Good size tv & 2 tables if your working.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

The room was beautiful with everything one could want and a lovely big comfortable bed. While the room did not have a view it was nice and quiet at night. Breakfast waas lovely. My only regret is that I was only staying the one night. Great value for money.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Our second and not our last visit! Wonderful hotel, staff, food and atmosphere. Popular venue for weddings. We were kindly given an early check in after arriving from Shannon airport and travelling all night. The staff cannot do enough for you. Handy taxi drive into the City but can also have a great night in the hotel itself with live music in a very comfy bar. Can't wait to return.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Fab hotel. Staff were great, room was lovely and had all facilities you could need. Costs approx 10 to get into Galway city from hotel but we were aware of this and happy with this price.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Very impressed with this hotel. We attended a wedding there on Friday 3rd August and I felt if I lived in the area I would have no hesitation about having a wedding reception there. We had a two-night stay there and found it to be very comfortable with a lovely laid back atmosphere and very friendly and efficient staff. Well done to all concerned !!!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

rooms were comfortable, evening meal in the restaurant was superb, the service was also excellent, the only criticism is that the breakfast buffet could have been a bit better

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

lovely staff, great hotel, lovely food. The temperature in the rooms was very high would be my only issue.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

really nice hotel , have stayed there before, staff very friendly, excellent food, ate in the restaurant on Saturday night, dinner very good and very reasonable price. Breakfast one of the best I have ever had in a hotel, nice variety of fruit cereals, breads, etc. and main breakfast cooked to order which is very good, fresh and non greasy unlike most hotel breakfasts which are buffet style.will definately be back again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

just back from a two day stay at The Westwood Hotel Galway We attended a wedding there The hotel could not be faulted in any way Staff were very helpful food was excellent at the wedding and we eat in the restaurant and it was beautiful freshly prepared food.Rooms spotless I consider it very good value for money will make a return visit and recommend it to others.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

It was our first time to stay at the Westwood House hotel, we were attending a wedding there and from start to finish everything was perfect, Reception staff were most helpful, our room was spotless and comfortable, had a very good nights sleep. Breakfast fresh and tasty, will certainly stay there again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

We spent a lovely evening at the Westwood. The staff were very friendly And we enjoyed our stay. The room was spotless.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a wedding. The ambience of the foyer was spectacular when we arrived. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The selection and quality of the food for breakfast was fantastic.The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Overall a fantastic experience.Will definitely stay again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

hotel was class

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here, we were here to celebrate my sister's birthday party with family and friends. The room was really nice , comfortable and spotless. The dinner was fantastic and our breakfast superb with a great varirty.The staff in all departements were pleasant and helpfull. We wished we could have stayed longer.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay in Westwood House, We were made very welcome right from the time of arrival and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Bedroom was lovely and the bathroom was really nice. OVERALL ALL THE HOTEL WAS BETTER THAN WHAT WE EXPECTED. WE WOULD CERTAINLY STAY HERE AGAIN

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Hotel was wonderful there for a wedding, food was excellent, rooms were fab, would stay there again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

Great hotel, highly recommend it. Sparklingly clean, large rooms, lovely atmosphere, amazing choice of breakfasts, friendly staff. Room very quiet, despite a large wedding on the ground floor. Best hotel I've stayed in in Ireland to date.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

Not my first stay in the hotel it as always was very good. The only thing that lets it down is no pool. Ample parking and broadband in room are the main attractions. Room service is also very good however expensive.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

Charming hotel with very good staff who were pleasent and receiptive througout the stay. Helpful throughout short stay. room was very spacious and comfortable with state of the art facilities. Breakfast was first class with a large variety to suit all tastes and dining area was cosy and warm as well as staff who where cheerful (this is especially helfup first thing in the morning from a late nite the nite before) Distance from Galway is adeuquate if you want to stay clear of the hsutle and bustle as well as noise levels. Would be happy to stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

Very nice hotel. Lovely bar and restaurant. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Hotel rooms are comfortable, clean and well finished. Bathroom was nice but shower was disappointing, water pressure was poor and we couldn't adjust the temperature! So shower was lukewarm and slow, not how I like it at all. Overall a nice stay but I will be requesting a proper working shower at check in when I next stay.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

Their beds are really comfy and the food is excellent. What more could you ask for?

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

Great stay at the westwood. Couldn't have faulted it, beautiful bedroom and bathroom. Friendly staff and excellent food. Internet access in the bedrooms was also very useful. Will definitely be back

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

Really enjoyed our two nights here for a wedding. Room very clean and comfortable.The staff were very helpful and polite. Ordered breakfast in our room on our first morning which was very nice,warm and on time. Close to city centre, taxi cost €9.50 each way. Only downside was noise on the first night as it was at the back of the hotel just above function room. Would request a room at the front next time we stay here.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

Staff extremely Friendly & Helpful, Food was excellent, very bright Clean rooms, decor very pleasing to the eye...fantastic Stay, would highly recommend, Thank You !

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Very nice hotel. Staff were very nice and very helpful. Very nice breakfast too. Only drawback is that there is no fitness center.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

gorgeous hotel, very impressed. We were given a superior room with the biggest bed Ive ever seen! Fabulous decor. There was a wedding on the day we stayed but apart from their tea.coffee on arrival we didnt see them at all. We had gorgeous very reasonably priced bar food... and after a night out were served a night cap. All the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast choices and quality absolutely perfect. Thanks! Will definitely be back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

I was very happy with the weestwood house hotel and would strongly recommend it as a beautiful place to stay.The staff were fantastic.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Located on the N59 to Clifton road, it's a 20 minutue walk or a €10 taxi fare to the city center. Clean and nicely decorated in a country house style. Staff were efficient and friendly. Rooms have all been recently refurbished. I booked a single room with Roomex and received a room with a double and single bed. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was spacious with nice decor. Breakfast is served from 8 - 11. Cereal, juice and full irish breakfast were available. The only downside to the stay was some noise from wedding reception below. Would be worth asking from room away from function room if a wedding is on. Check in and out was very quick. Remember to bring your Roomex voucher as I was asked for this at check in. The price I paid through Roomex considerably cheaper than booking directly with the hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

Lovely hotel and the food was fabulous. We were there for a wedding and the ballroom and bar staff and everything was very good. We have another wedding in the Westwood in November so i hope to book a few more rooms with roomex for that wedding too.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

we were there for a wedding and being close to christmas the reception and dining room were very tastefully decorated and layed out beautifully. the meal at the wedding was excellent. the hotel room was very comfortable, clean and the decor was what you would expect from a hotel of that standard. the breakfast being waiter served was a pleasant change from the typical buffet. we really enjoyed our stay

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

we had visited the westwood house hotel on numerous occasions before and it is always consistently excellent. The food is superb, as are the staff.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Great stay. Rooms comfortable and elegant.Staff very helpful and friendly.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5